4e D&D, Opinions so far

Last month I finally got a chance to play 4e D&D for the first time. We converted our WotBS campaign over at 9th level.

Caveat: Lacking a Bard class, we took Saric’s (ENWorld) overblown and way too Uber Bard class and completely rewrote it. Still in the process, but we should have it competed in a month or so. We needed it, because I’m playing the Bard and am the core member of the group. (The only player to make every session, one of two original characters to this campaign.)

Preconceptions: I’ve been playing D&D for 30 years, since the original White Box set with the three booklets. When 3e came out, it completely reinvigorated my love of the game. I love the complexity and the solutions, the options and the whole damned game. I will always consider 3.5 to be my favorite version of D&D.

When 4e was announced, it completely took the wind out of my sails. I was literally depressed about the game and withdrew from boards and such for a good four months.

Judgment: I like it, with some caveats. We had a good session, my Bard was fun to play and could actually do a lot of things. I will play 4e going forward, and have some ideas for things I’d like to try out in other games.

What I don’t like:

Economics: They got silly enough in 3e. I get annoyed with the “1gp = $1” mentality and the absurd prices for magic in recent editions. I actually rewrote the pricing formulas to be flatter and more reasonable in 3e and used a Silver based economy. Don’t even get me started on the insane and unreasonable prices in the Stronghold Builder’s Guide, which priced non-adventures out of the entire building creation process.

In 4e, they’re off-the-charts ludicrous. A +6 magic item costs six thousand times what a +2 item costs. Entire kingdoms would have to be looted of everything of value and a buyer somehow found to create such items.