9/11 As It Happened

(I’m opening this here, because it concerns the media coverage of the events of 9/11, as opposed to the events themselves).

Tuesday night, MSNBC ran a 2-hour program with the above title, which consisted of mostly unedited footage from NBC (mostly Katie Couric and Matt Lauer) from the morning of September 11, 2001. This covered the first moments after the first tower was hit, up through the crash of United 93 and the collapse of the towers.

I found this morbidly fascinating; since I live on the west coast, I didn’t turn on the TV that morning until well after all this had happened. So this was my first time seeing this “as it happened” footage. My impressions…

The anchors were amazingly calm and professional. I’d be yelling ‘holy crap!" and "what the f*** is goin’ on???" a lot – but then I’m not a professional news anchor.

The coverage was surprisingly limited – it was virtually all phone conversations with eyewitnesses on the street, while looking at a camera shot from a skyscraper miles away. It took a long time to get a cameraman on the street. Any ideas why?

It looks like the anchors don’t watch their own monitors…when the 2nd plane hit, you could see the plane approaching on the screen, and the eyewitness on the phone reacted immediately, but the anchors were a bit behind & confused.

Tom Brokaw arrived about 90 minutes in, and provided gravitas. Up to that point, all the talk was on minutiae. Brokaw immediately took the perspective of the nation under attack from terrorists.

[thread=86458]This thread[/thread] is a fascinating read for similar reasons.

I think one of the things that most impressed on me, in those moments, were the very professional news anchors, visibly struggling to hold their shit together. It is really hard to imagine what it must have been like to be a reporter that day.