99 Camry: Sell for Parts?

Looking for some sage advice here: This is my first time selling/ridding of a car and I’m not sure what the best approach is or how to go about it. I’ve got a 99 Camry that has been replaced by a newer shinier toy. It runs, but has some cosmetic issues - interior door handle is busted, front headlight is smashed, driver side mirror is taped to the door and power window on the front driver side is out of juice. Compiled ~150k miles and has never given me any issues outside of the blemishes noted above.

In sum: Am I best off selling for parts? If so, how? Am I best off trying to sell it in some other capacity? Or, should I be looking to donate?

Any guidance would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

The first thing I would do would be to check local laws surrounding the sale automobiles as a private party to another. In Massachusetts, I believe the rule is that the car needs to pass the state inspection, otherwise the buyer can get the seller to handle the repairs to make it street legal, get a refund, etc.

If that turns out to be true for you, most junkyards are willing to take working vehicles as they make nice for-parts cars. Alternatively, see if there’s a technical or vocational school that has Automotive classes and see if they want it for a project car.

It sounds like the car is still running, so you’re better off selling the car as is. You could sell the parts, but you’re not going to be able to part out the entire vehicle. In other words, you would possibly be left with a non-running car that you’d have to eventually pay someone to tow to the junkyard.

Moderator Action

Welcome to the SDMB, gvleuvan.

General Questions is for questions with factual answers. Questions seeking advice and opinions belong in the In My Humble Opinion (IMHO) forum. You don’t have to do anything. I will move the thread for you.

Moving thread from General Questions to In My Humble Opinion.