A Chemist's worst nightmare

I’m a Chemist and I’m being subpoenaed for a deposition to 'splain some data I produced a few years ago with my former employer.

Having to defend your work product years after the fact can be terrifying, but it’s one of the risks that professionals assume. I’d sooner volunteer to have the shit kicked out of me in the parking lot.

Anyone else been through something like this before?

Yes.

Close.

When I worked CAD for a naval architecture firm, a roll-on/roll-off (RORO) ramp that we had designed collapsed, causing injuries and (IIRC) a death. The engineer was anxious, as he was very sure of his design. (I hadn’t done the CAD work on it, or I would’ve been nervous too.) Turns out that the contractor that built it didn’t follow our engineer’s designs exactly, so we were off the hook.

It is likely the prosecutor will focus on the integrity of the measurements used to produce the data.

A few things to think about beforehand…

Did you have written procedures or instructions? Were you using the measurement instruments correctly? Were your instruments under calibration control, i.e. were they traceable to NIST at the time? If so, were they calibrated correctly? Do you still have calibration records?

A useless bit of advice: trust yourself. I am a good scientist and I trust my own work. I’m sure you do, and should do, the same:)

I’m not a chemist, and I have never had to explain anything more complex than a late term paper, but I would say, make some notes to yourself as to what you want to say, the points you want to cover. That way when it’s over and you’re walking down the hallway, you won’t smack yourself in the forehead and holler, “Oh, geez, I can’t believe I forgot to mention that!”

And don’t drink more than one cup of coffee before the Big Meeting. :smiley:

What, precisely, is the General Question here?

How about