A Christian ethnic cleansing against Muslims in CAR?

I will preface this by saying that I have been an amateur student of conflict in the Central Africa Republic (CAR) for many years now. I’ll tell anyone who listens that the ongoing instability there is a regional threat. Predicting violence in CAR is hardly Sylvia Brown stuff, but even I am taken aback by the turn this conflict seems to be taking.

As a very short background, CAR wasn’t stable during colonialism, and it hasn’t been stable after. They’ve experienced some of the worst African dictators, interspersed with coups and general violence. Up until recenty, the major issue was that the central government simply didn’t have much power- not much manpower, not much firepower, and not much credibility. Unable to raise a military or police force any stronger than the presidential guard, the central government traditionally relied on regional powerbrokers/warlords to keep some level of control outside the capital. This never worked particularly well, and much of the country has been on ongoing battle between displaced soldiers turned road bandits and local militia groups that alternatively join in the maurading.

CAR has also been blessed with a particularly unfortunate set of neighbors, and everyone from warloads from Darfur to Joseph freaking Kony have sauntered in to cause trouble.

Anyway, despite having followed the conflict somewhat closely, I have been pretty shocked at the speed that it’s somehow evolved into a religious confict. I honestly don’t think that was the primary divide just a few years ago. But, then again, a lot of things have changed in religion in the area, and I think that areas that were previously pretty relaxed in terms of religious tension are now joining in on the hate bandwagon.