A Covid Thanksgiving

My husband and I have been hosting Thanksgiving for the last 10+ years for our families. Our lowest number of people was 8 and our highest was 24 - it’s usually about 15. We had resigned ourselves to no Thanksgiving celebration this year. Then the extended weather report came out for this week. NE MN will have temps in the mid to upper 50s for most of the week. It shows 60 for Friday! Since it’s been in the 20s-30’s (highs) and teens (lows) for the last few weeks, oh and don’t forget the 4" of snow we received a couple of weeks ago, the temps this week are going to be fantastic. So we have decided to have an early, outdoor Thanksgiving on Saturday! I’m not naive, things could drastically change by Saturday, so we’re going to set up socially distanced tables and a heater in the garage (unattached) and build a fire in our fire pit. We won’t have a fancy turkey dinner with all of the trimmings, I think I’ll get some fried chicken from the grocery store deli along with a few sides and buy some pies from Sam’s Club. It’ll be easy and relaxed. We won’t be able to lounge around and visit for hours, but at least we can get together.

Is anyone else having a revised Thanksgiving?

My side of the family always has Thanksgiving together, and we exchange our gifts then. Not this year. It looks like we’ll Zoom for a bit so we can greet each other. My wife and I will have chicken (I don’t actually like turkey) with stuffing and gravy. We will have calls or Facetime with her side of the family except those who can’t manage the tech.

We’re trying to figure out Christmas since one person can’t quarantine due to a combination of cognitive and residence issues. We may do quarantine plus rolling visits so everyone gets some gifts and an in-person visit, though that may be a parking-lot-to-window deal in one case.