A Disgusting Thing From Work--not for those with weak stomachs

I work as a veternary assistant/receptionist at a local animal hospital. I absolutely love my job. Most pet owners will call in as soon as they notice a problem with their animal. If there is an emergency after hours, the office will stay open late or have a doctor make a house call. If the emergency happens within office hours, we will reschedule less critical patients or have people wait. (Definition of emergency–bleeding, open wounds, abcesses, broken bones, fainting or passing out, poisioning, loss of balance–there are probably a few other cases in there that qualify as well.) With all of this in mind, I’ll begin telling what I saw.

Yesterday, Tuesday, a lady calls in, wanting to schedule an appointment. She had brought pets to the office in the past, but not recently–so long ago that we have no chart for her. I asked what was wrong with the animal, a cat. She gave me the following information–that the cat was an indoor/outdoor former stray, that it had a cut on it’s head, that she had been keeping it inside and that the cut was healing but she still wanted to see a vet. I explained that any open wound is something we need to see ASAP, and that I could schedule her later that same evening. That wasn’t conveinent for her, and I noted that on the appointment book. (Little did I know I needed it.)