A Juror's Resposibility

I just finished watching the move “Twelve Angry Men”

Its led me to ponder this question.

If a juror believes that the prosecution has not proved its case, that there is reasonable doubt, yet he is not comfortable to give the defendant a free pass as a result of double jeopardy, is it ok to to vote guilty to ensure a hung jury and hope for a better trial in the future?

I’m not a lawyer, but this is in GD rather than GQ, so, drawing on my own ethical intuitions: No. If the prosecution has not proved its case, the defendant is entitled to “a free pass” (which is to say, one is by default entitled to one, and there is a strong burden of proof incumbent upon those who would seek to remove it); them’s the breaks. Lying about the strength of the prosecution because one does not like the fact that reasonable doubt precludes legal guilt is very icky.

Seconding this. remember that the prosecution gets (within broad limits) to pick when it brings its case. It can wait to get its evidence together for a year or more (most statutes of limitations are 2+ years).

We have to presume the prosecution is taking its very best shot at the case. If it can’t prove it then, why does the prosecution deserve another chance?

Also, though I’m not a lawyer, and (touch wood) haven’t had to appear in court for anything to date, it’s clear it’s 1) time-consuming, 2) expensive, and 3) unpleasant. Giving the prosecution another shot means the defendant has to go through all that again–maybe they can’t afford as good a lawyer this time, and will have to plead, maybe they won’t be able to make their best defense, maybe they’ll just run their business into the ground because they have to be in court.

It’s totally unfair to make someone go through that again.