Let’s say there’s a runner tagging up on a fly ball and the fielder intentionally bobbles the ball to get the runner to, in essence, leave early. Is this a legal play?
I think about trying this all the time in softball.
Let’s say there’s a runner tagging up on a fly ball and the fielder intentionally bobbles the ball to get the runner to, in essence, leave early. Is this a legal play?
I think about trying this all the time in softball.
Runner can leave as soon as the fielder touches the ball.
Rule 2.00 (Catch) states:
So unfortunately, your plan won’t do you any good.
You might want to check this thread.
How the hell did I miss that? It’s practically the same question. Thanks.
By the way, I’d say Jeter’s out. He was leading off third and raced home, presumably never tagging up.