A question for those who went to high school in the '90s: What was the deal with beepers?

I never had one myself, nor did any of my close friends, but when I went to high school in the mid-90s, it seemed like a lot of kids had them. This was before cell phones became ubiquitous (they were just beginning appear in the hands of students when I graduated).
So, my question is why were they so popular? Did they just have a lot of friends outside of school they needed to talk to during the day? Was this supposed to be an early, crude form of text messaging? Some other reason?
When asked by teachers, many students would say something like they needed them just in case someone had to get a hold of them in an emergency - never mind that in case of a real emergency a parent could just as easily call the office and have them get a hold of their kid or that you couldn’t just walk out in the middle of class to make a phone call.
There were rumors that many students used them for drug dealing - knowing a lot of the kids who had them, this wouldn’t be beyond the realm of possibility, but still seems far fetched. Either way the administration really cracked down on them because they became such a nuisance, and by my junior year I don’t think you were allowed to have them at all.

Pagers were expensive, and thus were a status symbol. Cell phones were even MORE expensive, but no one would pay $2000 for a brick phone and $9 a minute for a teenager to have one.

I graduated from high school in 1995 in a rural part of Ohio, and I can’t think of anyone that had a beeper. Probably it was a more urban thing?

Uh, what about Zack Morris?

I was a bit older than high school but I carried one for a while in the 1990s.

It was a way for you to give out ‘your number’ without having to give out a landline phone that you probably shared with family if you were in high school or roommates if you were just out of college.