A Self-Taught Course in Existentialism

I studied existentialism in college and I was really into it. But it was a matter of reading deeply and not broadly - I’ve read most of Nietszche, which I studied in depth, and then a smattering of existential literature… Nausea, Heart of Darkness, The Stranger, etc. I don’t know why decades later I suddenly want to jump in again, but here I am.

I’ve decided I want to design a little course for myself. So I’m looking not only for the source material but also the analysis. I don’t care if it takes me a year to get through the stuff. I want to take my time to really understand what I’m reading.

So those of you into philosophy - what are the must - reads for existentialism? Do you have any good resources for placing these works into context? Modern classics? YouTube videos? I’m open to anything.

Thanks!

I’m not sure how much time and effort you are able and willing to spend on your project. If you really want to get to grips with the philosophical side of existentialism, you should try to get the gist of Heidegger and Sartre. In philosophy I think Sartre is not as well regarded, but it would be a pity to ignore him. Besides those two there are a lot of others, but that might be for later study.

For understanding Heidegger I’d suggest first reading a bit yourself and failing miserably to make any sense of it, but it might give you a taste of what he’s doing.
Fairly accessible are

• The origin of the work of art
  • The question concerning technology

If you are sufficiently well read in philosophy, you might try the beginning (first 40 pages or so) of Being and Time, where Heidegger does try to take the reader along his thought process.
Hard-core Heidegger:

• Introduction to metaphysics
  • What is metaphysics
  • Identity and difference