A (simple ?) probability question.

I’m not good at figuring probability beyond the most basic. Here’s the problem:

• A pair of standard six-sided dice.

• You get one throw.

• If either of the die show a 6 you win.

• If either of the die show a 4 you get another throw.

• On the second throw if either of the die show a 6 you win.

• No further throws no matter what comes up.

What are the odds you will win?

There’s an 11/36 chance of winning outright on the first throw (1-6, 2-6, 3-6, 4-6, 5-6, 6-6, 6-5, 6-4, 6-3, 6-2, 6-1).

There’s a further 9/36 chance of getting a second roll (1-4, 2-4, 3-4. 4-4, 5-4, 4-5, 4-3, 4-2, 4-1).

If you get a second roll, there’s again a 11/36 chance of winning on that throw.

So, that’s a total of:

11/36 + (9/36)*(11/36)

= 495 / 1296
= 55/144
= 38.2%

You are not looking for combinations only sixes. I would say a 1 in 6 of winning on the first throw and also a 1 in 6 if getting another turn with the same 1 in 6 if you get the other turn so my guess wuld be closer to 7/36

I tried to edit but I was too late, I would say 1 in 3 for winning on first roll, 4 in 15 for loosing on first roll, 2 in 5 for getting another roll if you don’t win. and the same 1 in 3 on the third roll. Not sure what the total would be but it seems better than 50/50. Combinations don’t count here as they do in craps.

You could say that, but you’d be wrong. The calculations done by Great Antibob are correct.

A combination is not needed to accomplish winning. You could throw the dice one at a time and not even throw the second die if the first roll gave you a six. So you would have to add a 0-6 and a 6-0 to his possibilities.

the OP clearly states that you only get one throw, two on the exception that you get a ‘4’. even if we allow for your changes to the OP …

what is this? you either throw the dice or you don’t. you’re conflating the possiblities of two exclusive events.