I don’t know much about sports, so here’s a question/observation. Follow me if you can…
I was watching a basketball game recently where the score was close. Just before the end of the game the ball went out of bounds with a second or two left on the clock. The referees went to a TV on the side of the court and determined that the guy in charge of the clock hadn’t turned off the clock fast enough. So another .4 seconds were put back on the clock.
I didn’t think much about this at first, but then I realized that by scrutinizing the timekeeper at the end of the game and at no other time, what the action was essentially saying was that the timekeeper (and the time on the clock) had been correct all the way through the half except for the last two seconds. This I say simply because the officials were using the game clock to determine how much time was left when the ball went out of bounds. But by putting time .4 seconds back on the clock, the officials were essentially saying that the timekeeper had made one error through all the clock’s stops and starts, an that error occurring during the last two seconds of the game.
Who is not thinking logically, me or the basketball officals?