A treasure beyond words

My dad (our father, who art in Florida, Herbert be his name) is a custom jeweler. He’s nearly 80, and pretty much retired.

I have childhood memories of visiting his shop, and seeing these beautiful pieces of hand crafted sparkly things. for the first 6 months after I graduated college, I worked at his shop, and saw many of his creations first hand. I knew that he’d kept a record of some of his more memorable pieces (photos, drawings etc.). I mentioned these to my siblings when dad visited Michigan last June.

Today, as I was at my office, my friend, theUPS driver had a package for me. From dad.

It was (among some other stuff), his notebook of pictures of his works.

What an honor. What a treat.

now, how the hell do I let my siblings know without causing a family fight?

Photocopy.

My husband found himself in the middle of a big fight between his two sisters who each wanted all of the original family photos after their mother died. (He had the pictures because he was the only one who could be bothered to spend time with his mother during her last days.)

His solution was to have the pictures copied professionally. The copies looked at least as good as the originals. He also put them into nice albums and gave each of his sisters one.

(Of course, his bitch-sister lost hers in one of her hundreds of moves and drove all the way across the country to coerce his soft-hearted sister out of hers, but that’s another story.)

I’ve thought of copying them. But the cost is more than I could currently afford (even just color copying at Staples) we’re talking a serious lot of photos here.

I appreciate the suggestions, tho’.

How about a “traveling” book that goes from sibling to sibling at regular intervals. You could all enjoy your fathers work until you could get his book recreated.