A Valentine's Day thread ten years in the making

About eleven years ago, I was an impoverished recent law grad madly in love with this awesome (albeit crazy; she loved me too) woman. We’d been seeing each other for a couple years, suffering through a NY to DC commute and a host of other hurdles. Did I mention the poverty angle? Yeah, living on a few dollars a day.

Did I mention the cantankerous bastard bit yet? Yeah, we were perfect for each other because, among other things, we’re curmudgeonly, bah-humbuggy anti-commercial fusspots. But we were in love.

So there we were. We’d talked obliquely about marriage, about our mutual dislike of diamonds, and in a roundabout way about ring preferences and all that happy horseshit. So I knew things.

Then a freakin’ miracle happened. We were in Old Mystic CT (a touristy-ish quaint New England town with curio shops galore) visiting with my folks. And this old, independent jeweller was going out of business. Not bankrupt, but retiring to Florida and everything he had was ridiculously marked down. And she saw The Ring.

The right cut she had described, the right stone she wanted, the right everything. As if it was custom ordered. Beautiful.

She left the store kinda bent out of shape. First, she had no idea I had even seen the ring. I played the nonchalant boyfriend bit perfectly, sitting quietly in the boy chair when necessary. But I knew.

She wasn’t pissed or anything, but it definitely bothered here just a wee bit that here she was dating an all but penniless guy who was likely years away from being able to afford a basic ring. Sigh, but we were in love and such was her lot.