Access 97 Query by form help - using combobox parameter (long!)

I need help creating some relatively simple query by forms in Access 97. I am very new to this software (about 8 hours experience so far!), and although I have been making good use of Google, I’m stuck and I don’t know why things aren’t working.
This is long, but I’m trying to be as clear as possible, so I can get the best advice possible!
Here is what I’m trying to do;

I am creating a database with 4 tables. They are as follows. The relationships are 1-to-many, indicated with matching *s:

tblProductType - this has an autonumberID(*), a product common name (Widget Name), and a product code
(eg. 12, Super Widget, SWD-100-02)

tblCountry - autonumberID(**), CountryName, ContactCompany
(eg 7, Argentina, Widget Sales Inc.)

tblDocumentType - autonumber, document type (1, ABC-Form) (these are industry-related document names, less important, but I use it for a drop down in the next table and entry form to make things more uniform…).

And finally, the one of interest:

tblForeignMarket - this has autonumber, productType numberID(*), country NumberID(**), document type, document name, revision number, date of letter, http link to pdf of document.

The dropdown menus in tblForeignMarket are ProductTypeNumber (drops down numberID next to common name next to code, registers the numberID), Country Number (drops down the numberID next to the country name, but registers the numberID) and DocumentType, which just drops down the list of document names.

I have succeeded in making a form to enter new data, and that’s good enough for now (though sooner or later I’ll want to refine that, I just need to know the requirements better).