Accurate portrayals of your profession in fiction

Hello everyone. I’m interested in hearing from any dopers who have seen their job shown in a work of fiction and thought “yeah, that’s just like real life”. I’ve heard plenty of grumbles from people who have seen bad, inaccurate, lazy or unrealistic depictions of their profession, but not much of the opposite.

Have you ever seen an accurate depiction of whatever it is you do for a living?

This might be applicable, but only in an oblique way. I’ve been a security consultant for over 40 years, working with alarm systems and physical security systems. Of all the movies I’ve personally seen, only Thief (1981) came close to depicting how intrusion detection systems and vaults are installed…and how burglars successfully compromise them. The director (Michael Mann) used knowledgeable people and it showed. Highly accurate, right down to compromising the direct-wire systems.

I used to work in offset printing, and there were a couple of TV procedurals that completely missed the mark in how printing is done.

In NCIS:LA, Callen goes undercover as a counterfeiter. Hetty gives him an operating manual to memorize overnight. He meets up with the counterfeit ring and operates a press for the very first time and seemingly creates unerring duplicates in one pass. No. Hell fucking no. A printing press requires a lot of hands-on experience, knowledge of the intricate moving parts, knowledge of the balance between ink and water, adjustments for the type of paper, humidity, and registration board, that comes with lots of hands-on practice. Moreover, it’s not just green ink. There’s other colors on money, and the serial numbers are all different. Making truly authentic-looking money requires a lot of passes through multiple machines. Even if you’re a genius and can memorize a 500-page manual overnight, memorizing and applying are two different things.