acetaminophen question

I know that technically the lethal dose of acetaminophen is 7-10grams depending on how long apart it’s taken or if it’s taken at once. But does body weight play a factor in overdose and lethality?

Say a 250 man takes ten 500mg Tylenol at once and gets sick and his liver enzymes skyrocket and he almost dies. Would it be the same situation for a 400lb man?

Does it take more to kill someone who weighs more or is it not one of those drugs? In other words, does it function like alcohol/body weight?

gabriela will be in here presently to give a better answer, but my guess (I’m not a doctor, but once upon a time I got a degree in animal physiology) is that it depends on the size and function of the liver, which is what acetaminophen attacks. A person with a larger or higher functioning liver might handle a large dose better than a person with a smaller or lower functioning liver. And, AFAIK, being severely overweight can damage the liver, so your 250 pounder might be better off than the 400 pounder.

I believe you are correct. Weight might have only a lose correlation with the toxic dose. For example, some heavy drinkers have taken a somewhat regular dose, gone into acute liver failure and died rather suddenly. They wouldn’t necessarily have been drinking when they took it but the types of liver damage that alcohol inflicts on the liver doesn’t play well with acetaminophen. That is why there is that warning label on Tylenol these days not to take it if you have X number of drinks a day.

People differ in the ability to metabolize different drugs in the liver a great deal. That is mostly matters in this case so you can’t assign a firm weight scale to it.

**Dope on Dosage **

Still, the LD50 for acetaminophen is listed in units of mg/kg, so there must be at least a rough correlation.