Advice for a new mandolin player

Out of the blue I started playing fiddle last year (I’m a late starter - 46!). I enjoy it, but I miss being able to sing while I play and I haven’t been too happy with my instructor. Lately I had a good excuse to stop taking lessons (job loss) so I did. Also, did I mention fiddle is really really hard?

Anyway, I still enjoy playing and a few weeks ago I got a mandolin. Since the string arrangement is the same (except doubled) I thought I would pick it up quickly, and I have - I can play most of my fiddle tunes, though not as quickly, and I’m learning some easy chords. I have a few questions -

1. Any general advice I should know about playing mandolin that’s not immediately obvious?

2. How the hell to you play an F chord? I mean, I see the chart, but my fingers can’t do that. I’d hate to go through life not playing anything with an F, but for now when I see an F I just move the whole song into a different key.

I plan on signing up for lessons soon - I start a new job next week. So in a month or so. But so far it’s a lot more fun than my poor fiddle, although I try not to neglect that one too much either.

Congrats!!

I think picker plays some mando.

Obvious things:

• Go to YouTube and search on beginning mandolin lessons - find a person and approach that works for you.

• Go to the website the Mandolin Cafe and hangout - I believe it is a broad Forum for bluegrass and a wide variety of players and instruments, but retains a mando focus.

• Watch Chris Thile play - solo, as party of Nickel Creek or Punch Brothers. You many want to put your mandolin down after watching him, but oh man what a player.