Advice for returning to the piano after a decade

I took piano as a child all the way up through college - I minored in it, actually. I was one of those unfortunately stupid kids who have a lot more talent than drive, so I always played quite a bit below my ability because I never really practiced much. (A gift for sightreading and natural laziness are a very bad combination!) Still, by the time I graduated from college I’d reached a certain level, I guess. You can’t not, after more than a decade doing something.

My senior year of college was… bad. Really bad. I was one of those extremely depressed college seniors that they probably catch a lot better these days. Almost flunked out - went from the Dean’s List to a .5 GPA my last semester. (Actually, piano was the only thing I didn’t flunk, oddly enough. And Chorale.) I guess I felt the piano was kind of bound up in all of that, because I haven’t touched it since. It’s been almost ten years, a fact which boggles my mind. Ten years! Holy crap, I’m old! (I’m REALLY old - my 30th birthday is Monday.)

Since we’ve started to clean up the house, I’ve suddenly had the desire to play again. (Being able to make it to the piano is surely part of it.) I’ve been noodling through some hymnals and books of Christmas carols and such that I found in the bench, and I told the boyfriend I’d teach him, so I picked up a good old Alfred Adult Beginner book for him. But I’m not sure what to do for myself.