Advice for social network web dev software

I’m well-invested in traditional media. In one particular subject, I’ve written 3 books and about 50 articles, and created all or part of several websites. I’m looking at ways to move into new media, using the material I have rights to.

For background, I used to be a software engineer, and I’ve done a lot of code work recently in HTML, PHP, and SQL. To date, I’ve never found a tool for building websites that I really liked. Looking over templated sites lately (e.g., squarespace), things have come a long way…

I want to build a new site that rolls in all of my content and builds a social network around it. I’ve already written code for another website to handle article databases, calendars, product/service databases, different levels of member privileges, private messaging, comments on articles, and all the basics. I have not, however, written blog software or a message board, both of which I’d like to incorporate in this design.

I know it would be easy to have a vBulletin board, a Blogspot blog, and my own custom site, but then users would need to create three different userIDs to use them. I want a single user database that works for everything.

Is there a template-based site that offers everything I want? Is there a tool that could make it easier to create? I really don’t want to code a message board and blogging system from scratch when there are good ones out there already.

I should point out that I’m not looking for free. If I code it myself, I’ll have to put in a lot of time and pay for hosting, so if I find a good template tool that can save me time and/or hosting cost, that’s worth something to me.

I won’t go with a solution that puts someone else’s ads on my site, though. I will have control over advertising.