Advice on Montreal

I’ll be visiting Montreal for the first time this coming Friday. It’s for a guys’ trip that one of my friends invited me on. I booked very late (thank god for Porter Airlines!) and am staying at a different hotel than the others. They will be at the W and I’m at Zero One. Since there are about 8 guys at one hotel and me at another, I figure that I’ll have to make my way over to them most of the time. Is that a safe walk? Are there any areas of the city that I should avoid walking alone? Is Uber a good option in general? Any advice on cheap transport to and from the airport?

Also, please please tell me the best spot for a Montreal Smoked Meat sandwich. Also poutine. I’m in Toronto 5-6 times per year, so I have tried these items there. But I imagine Montreal’s versions would be better.

Any other advice would be truly appreciated!

Sorry, can a moderator move this to IMHO?

I’m not an expert, but I would start with Schwartz’s as the yardstick for Montreal Smoked Meat and La Banquise for the poutine. I’m sure the locals will argue that these are not necessarily the best (although judging by the crowd at both, seems like many locals do), but I would consider them the starting point and branch out from there. Chef Guru also had a curry poutine that I was quite fond of and a bit different. Also, foodwise, the Portuguese chicken is worth checking out (I went to Romados, but there’s plenty of choices), and also Montreal style bagels (St. Viateur and Fairmount being the big names). Also, Montreal steamie hot dogs are worth a drunken try. I wasn’t impressed with them, but a couple of friends I sent out there really enjoyed them.

I’ve never felt unsafe walking anywhere I’ve wanted to go in Montreal…the bus from the airport is cheap and easy…Schwartz’s is the go-to place for smoked meat.

Honestly, I can’t think of a single Montreal neighborhood where I’d feel afraid. Montreal overall is an extremely safe city - 14th in the world, according to some.