Air Compressor Questions

Hello Everyone,

I recently purchased a new sandblast cabinet for my workshop. Finally I’ll be able to strip paint and remove rust from small parts. I have never used a cabinet before and I am hoping that my current air compressor will be powerful enough to run the cabinet. The cabinet and gun documentation recommend a compressor that can provide 7-14 CFM at 90psi, with the higher number being much more desirable. My compressor sits near the lower end of the scale, providing A modest 9 CFM at 90 psi.

I am hoping that it will be enough, but have started looking at replacement compressors so I can get an idea of what a new one will cost. What I am finding is if you need a compressor capable of more than 11 CFM it is going to be expensive! But I am really not sure if what is more important in determining CFM numbers. Its it more important to have a larger tank or a higher horsepower compressor motor? If it is the former, are tanks available that I can move my current motor over to? Or if its the motor, would it be better to use my current 25 gal tank and replace the motor?

For a full replacement the best compromise I have found is a $600 unit that provides 12.5 CFM. Am I worried too much about the CFM numbers? Will my current 9 CFM do the job, just slower? I am finding the wonderful world of compressors very confusing.

If it makes any difference I have purchased a Rapid Air System that lets me put pipe in my walks and had two outlets, one for the cabinet and one for a 50’ reel. There is a water filter where the compressor connects to three pipe system and another at the connection point for the blast cabinet. Both the cabinet and reel have their own pressure regulator. Also, the unit isn’t being used in a shop and won’t be use every day.