Air conditioner maintenance

We had a guy out to the house yesterday to “tune-up” the AC. On the invoice, he wrote that the R22 is “a little low” but he didn’t really seem that concerned about it. He wrote that it would cost $303 to recharge it but he didn’t push it on my wife.

So should I be concerned? Is this something I need to take care of ASAP? What are the consequences if I don’t?

I am not an expert, here is what I remember back when I owned homes: R22 is the refrigerant AND lubricant within your AC system. If the level is ‘a bit low’ but it still runs you should be fine. It sounds like your repair man was a nice honest fellow, alerting you to a potential issue in a year or two but not trying to cheat you now.

Try to pay attention to your AC system as the year goes on - if it stops cooling so well, or runs all the time, then you will need to have it worked on. If it runs out of refrigerant than the compressor will seize and then you will be replacing your whole AC.

Either way it is likely a gradual issue (even a good closed loop system will likely have a little loss somewhere) and you should not be surprised.

I’d say run with it & call the guy back next year. He can compare notes and you will be prepared for the $303 cost, if needed.

I think most AC units have pressure switches: if the compressor is unable to build downstream pressure to a sufficient level within X amount of time after turning on, it knows that there’s inadequate refrigerant (and therefore inadequate lubricant) to safely run the compressor.