I just tried to book a place listed on AirBnB. I got through a bunch of steps, including authorizing payment via PayPal, and giving the last 4 digits of my SSN (?).
I finally reached a step where they want me to grant access to my Google account, including my list of contacts (!) I draw the line at this, and so I will not be staying at the place where I’d hoped to.
Why are they doing this? Are they not losing considerable business this way?