Airline cabin crew abuse of power

Once again, a family has been kicked off a flight, this time for refusing to give up their toddler’s seat.

This was a lie. They also lied, saying that the man and his wife would go to prison for a ‘federal offence’, and their children would be sent to foster care.

It seems that these incidents have been increasing for the past several years. In many instances, the passengers are unruly. Rules are there for everyone’s safety, and as a pilot I support the notion that the crew are in charge. But it just seems to me that more people are being kicked off for very minor, or even non-existent, infractions. It seems like some cabin crew are on power trips.

What do you think?

<<That is at odds with Delta’s published advice, which says that for children under two years “we recommend you purchase a seat on the aircraft and use an approved child safety seat”. The company’s advice says an infant under two may be held in a parent’s lap if they choose.

The FAA’s website also “strongly urges” parents to put young children in a safety device in their own seat.>>

They should at least know what the heck they’re talking about before escalating things that far!
<<One crew member initially told him that his other son owned the seat so the toddler could not sit there.>>

But they had no problem letting other overbooked people take the seat which “belonged to” the other son. :smack:

Agreed. But I was only using this incident as an example. What I’m really interested in is whether more cabin crews are on power trips now.

I suspect that it’s horrible pressure from above, combined with the climate since 9/11 that air crew can do anything. Obviously they need to be able to take control when there is a security issue, but this is just another time where corporate earnings trump common sense.

And Delta is really stupid to have not changed its policies in light of United’s adventure.