Airlines: Positive Identification?

This might sound like a stupid question, but, hey, I’ve never been on a plane, so I don’t know the protocol, and the TWA site was worthless.

Here’s my dilemma: I have a business trip coming up in about a month. My company is paying the fare for the flight. Departure and destination are within the USA. I’m a lifelong resident of New Jersey. Problem? I don’t drive; don’t have a license. The airline makes a point of saying passengers must provide “positive ID.”

The only forms of ID I can provide:[ul]Company ID (photo)
birth certificate (original)
social security card
selective service registration[/ul]
Will this be enough?

how do you cash checks?

mainly they want positive proof of who you are. If you’re really worried, call the folks at the terminal (do it now before the plane leaves)

in my state there’s a “State ID” which serves as ID for those who don’t drive.

Yes I believe most DMVs will issue IDs

A positive ID usually refers to a picture ID. A telephone call to TWA’s customer service number (the one in my phone book is 1-800-221-2000) should clarify things.
If this is your first trip on an airplane you may prefer an aisle seat.

My mother had this problem, she had given up driving and had no drivers’ license, and she got hassled every time she was on a flight. She finally applied for a state photo ID, and that was a hassel to get, too.

Call the airline – NOW! – and tell them about the situation, and see what they say. I don’t know if a corporate photo-ID will be sufficient, may depend on the company (how easy it is to be forged, for instance.)

The whole thing is a major pain in the butt anyway, you ask me. I mean, every kid in college can get a fake ID to show they’re over drinking age, so what’s the deal with the photo ID?

I’ve had this problem twice - but all I did was smile nicely and they let me on. I think my English accent may have helped too.

You could always take the train