All of a sudden, my PC freezes when I click on a link. Why?

Okay, here’s the deal. Last night, I’m in a chatroom when someone posts a link to a page. I click on it and the new window comes up and I try to go from there. But nothing happens. I can’t even click to get rid of it. It just stays there. Same thing happens with links in e-mails and pop up ads. What’s going on here?

Someone suggested defragging, which I’ve never done before, but things didn’t improve. I also downloaded Norton to see if I had any viruses but none were present.

The only new thing I’ve added recently was a webcam and I downloaded Yahoo Messenger but the problem didn’t manifest itself immediately. Any suggestions as to what I can do? Thanks

Erik

You can try this if you are using Internet Explorer (you didn’t say what browser/OS you have…):

After making sure the Default browser is Internet explorer try the following:

1. Right click Start Button

2. Click Explore to open Windows Explorer

3. Click View from the Menubar of Windows Explorer window

4. Click Folder Options…

5. In the Folder Options dialog box click on File Types tab

6. Under Registred file types: in the box, scroll through the list and click to select URL:Hypertext Transfer Protocol

7.Click Edit… button to open Edit File Type dialog box

1. UnderActions:find a box and click Open from there

9.Click the Edit button below the Open box.

1. Application used to perform action: box must contain the value that reads:

“C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\iexplore.exe”-nohome

(Check the path to iexplore.exe to make sure that is correct)

[This can be done by using the Find -File method (Start>Find >Files or Folders> type iexplore.exe in Named: box;direct Look In to C: drive and click Find Now and verify that iexplore.exe is in C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer Folders.)
USE DDE box should be checked and in the boxes below it you should have:
DDE Message

“%1”,-1,0,

Application:

IExplore

DDE application not running

blank