All Things Considered, Is Beer Or Wine Better For A Whole (Ancient? European?) Civilization?

In terms of value of labor in the growing, harvesting and production of the end product; in terms of yield per hectare; in terms of net benefit to the consumers’ health; and all manner of other considerations, are wine and beer both equal? Equally beneficial to the consumers, to the economy; least impactful to the environment; easiest to transport and store, etc. Most pest-resistent crops, most drought-resistent crops, etc.?

I know that H sapiens on the European continent have been growing both for thousands of years, all across the continent, I’m assuming both at the same time since time immemorial. Would any people group in that place and time have benefitted, in the final analysis, with less of one and more of the other?

I’m no expert but my guess is that the answer is beer hands down. This cite suggests that agriculture was invented to fulfill a desire for beer. It is certainly much efficient to grow grain than grapes, and nutritionally small beer is akin to liquid bread.

But as I said I’m willing to be corrected by someone more authoritative.

Beer is the reason we created civilization. Lots of studies support this.

The producers knew what they were doing, insofar as they knew their local crop conditions. If the crop mix was wildly off, it would have to be because of something the ancients didn’t know (aka imperfect information), or some sort of ancillary benefit of one crop or the other that wasn’t captured in the market price (aka an externality).

I’m going to agree on the whole that beer is better for ancient civilizations as others have already mentioned.

I strongly suspect that narrowly, wine had a greater influence on regional and long-distance trade, since a great deal of wine’s development is tied to growing regions and beer was almost always a brew-at-home/locally sort of thing.