Allah/God

When a translator interprets an Arab speaker, is there an actual difference in Arabic (phonetically, contextually, or any other way) between the word for god, God, and Allah? Within the Hussein/Rather interview, I heard both “god” and “allah” used in the interpretation, sometimes within the same response. I’m wondering if when they interpret it as “Allah” that it’s like an English speaker might say “Jehovah” or “God-almighty” instead of just "God, or write “God” vs “god” – or is the translator just being arbitrary, or possibly even inserting a bias? I was always under the impression that the word “allah” was equivalent to the word “god” and that a person would use the same word whether they were Muslim, Christian, Jewish, or Hindu, and speaking of God. Is there more to it than that?

There’s also the word Khuda although Jomo Mojo should be here to set things straight.

OK, I’m no expert, but I believ

Sorry. It was supposed to say “I believe there are multiple words in Hebrew, too. Elohim, Adonai, and Yahweh. Maybe someone can set these straight, too.”

Allah
n. Islam. the Muslim name for God; the one Supreme Being.
[from Arabic, from al the + Ilah god; compare Hebrew eloah]

From: http://www.wordreference.com/English/definition.asp?en=allah

By the way, Allah has no plural and no gender.

Also, I noticed that even the translator mispronounced it by putting the accent on the first syllable.
It is not pronounced “AHlah”; it is pronounced “ahLAH”.

Allah in Arabic is pretty much equivalent to the word title/name (in Islam Allah is strictly not a name, but a title) ‘God’ in English, Arabic-speaking Christians also use the word ‘Allah’ too. The word itself (which pre-dates Islam) is a derivation of the Hebrew word ‘Elohim’ (‘I am’) word for God.