Allergies and the Immune System

My understanding of allergies is that they are caused by the immune system reacting to foreign bodies that are normally not harmful (such as pollen and dust mites).

So, if allergies are caused by an over-reactive immune system, does that mean that people with allergies have a more robust immune system, and are thus less prone to other illnesses? Is there a correlation there at all? Or does attacking allergens not reflect on the overall strength of the immune system?

It’s more accurate to think of an allergy as the result of a confused immune system, rather than an over-reactive one.

Both my sons have allergies, so I tend to notice when the kids I know have them. Some of the allergic kids seem to have very robust immune systems and some are unusually sickly, but most are sick about as often as any other kid.

That’s a interesting question and before I take a stab at it I’ll say I’m not a doctor but I have had allergies nearly 40 years now. So I have lots of experience, but not necessarially expert knowledge.

Rather than say “hyperactive immune system”, “mis-firing” might be more appropriate. There is some evidence (although the theory is not yet proven) that much of the IgE antibody system (the one primarially involved in allergies) evolved to deal with parasites, particularly intestinal parasites - which have been largely eliminated from the western world. Without nature’s intended target, in some individuals IgE apparently goes looking for trouble and latches on to stuff that is actually harmless. There is also some indication that parasites are capable of suppressing a host’s immune system, in which case parasties might be required, in a sense, to keep rampaging antibodies in check.