Allergy Shots

Mild seasonal allergies have been a problem all my life. I’ve had several bouts with chonic sinusitis, leading to two sinus surgeries. After getting our first dog last December, I realized that my stuffiness, headaches and wheezing had gotten unmanageable. So, I’ve been receiving allergy shots for about six months. They’ve definitely been helpful.

Anyone else on allergy shots? Any tips for a newbie? Any entertaining/informative stories?

Most common question I ask: “What?”
Most common question I get: “Are you really hearing impaired?”

Hmmmmm…funny story-
My dog has severe allergies. How do we know? He was itching a LOT and such, and they gave him an allergy test. Shaved part of his side and marked it off like a 12 square grid, then did the testing. He looked like he had a tic-tac-toe board on him! The worst part is, he came back HIGHLY allergic to everything they tested for:
pollen, grass, lamb (as in food), soy, meat-by-products, and on and on. The funny part is, I guess that he looked so damned funny with that grid on him, marked off in red marker.
Anyway, $400 later and about 8 weeks worth of shots (he has a great spirit and seriously didn’t mind), change of diet and an air filter in the house and he turned out great. No need to repeat the shots at all this year.

I had allergy shots throughout high school (allergic to pretty much anything). Since they are shooting you up with things that you’re allergic to, you’re suppose to build up immunity to the buggers (eventually). Unfortunetly for me, I had several “reactions” to the shots and had to discontinue.

Recently I’ve read that shots do not build up tolerance to the allergen in the body - in other words, they don’t work. This obviously is debatable, as they work for you.