Am I just screwed?

I recently had my car worked on at a local shop. I have, or I guess I should say had, a pretty expensive sound system that I’m rather proud of. After the car was fixed, they set it in what I guess is a standard staging area next to the road for the cars they’re finished with where someone very carefully removed my multimedia unit from underneath the dash. I guess what I need to know is if I have any chance of the shop being responsible for compensation. They say no… I believe the quote was (we ain’t really insured for things like that unless a tree or somethin’ falls on yer car."

I’m sure they’re not insured for it; that doesn’t matter. They may even have included a waiver in your estimate to protect themselves. This waiver may or may not be valid; the law in your area may very well provide that anyone who accepts your property in bailment is absolutely liable for it. You need to ask a lawyer who practices in your area. I am not a lawyer, and if I were, I would not be qualified to advise you on the law in your area, and even if I were qualified, I couldn’t be YOUR lawyer, and you couldn’t be my client.

I may be wrong, but it is their responsibility to provide a secure location for your car while it is in their charge. As long as they have the keys, it’s their responsibility. If you had driven down and picked up the keys with the intention of returning a few hours later to pick it up, it’s your responsibility. But as long as it was entrusted to them, until you pick it up, they should secure it.

I’m sure they have a responsibility to exercise reasonable care, but I’m not sure they bear responsibility for everything that might happen to your car. Check with your insurance company (it may be covered under your homeowner’s policy), and if you still have questions, check with a local attorney.