Am I the only one annoyed at the term "compute"?

I guess I’m firmly in old man territory now but every time I read or hear the usage of “compute” to describe computer capability I just get a little triggered. I think it’s because I remember it being used back in the 80s and then never for 3 decades and now it’s being used again like it never went away.

Or maybe I’m just having a Mandela effect moment and everyone will tell me they’ve been using it constantly for years. Bullshit.

As for why it annoys me, I have no idea. I guess this is how conservatives are made.

I am a software engineer. It irritates me no end.

So there are two of us.

Could you give us an example of the word’s use, in context?

Just off the top of my head:

“I got a new graphics card for compute, not for graphics.”

“How much compute does your new GPU have?”

I’m sure it’s used outside of GPUs. But it is common there. Stuff like crypto currency and AI use compute.

Does not compute.

Compute was originally a perfectly cromulent word, it refers to computing power as a continuous variable rather than discrete which made sense when we moved to cloud computing. Before cloud, we talked about having individual machines and deploying new, named machines. The change in paradigm was that compute was now just a dial you could turn by hand or autoscale via APIs.

Of course, people started misusing the term in an attempt to sound cooler and more modern but the original meaning was distinct and necessary.

So “compute” as a noun? And seemingly, a noun that dies not obey the rules of grammar?

I agree. That sounds very stupid.

I’ve never heard the word used in this manner. It’s ridiculous and immediately irritating. I’ve heard it used, “that does not compute”, meaning “that”, whatever it is, does not make any logical sense.

I have never been annoyed at the term compute until this happened:

This is the first time I’ve seen that usage.

Never heard it, instantly hate it.