Amateur pianists: what do you enjoy playing?

I recently bought myself a digital piano after a few years not having a piano at all.

I played for about 30 years, mostly classical pieces: Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Clementi, etc. Plus some ragtime and some standards, which I’m completely out of practice with.

What do you play? It can be genres, pieces, styles, whatever.

I don’t play piano; I play guitar. But if I started piano - and I contemplate it from time to time - I would want to play boogie-woogie like Meade Lux Lewis(youtube link)…

I’m a shitty pianist. I never took lessons outside of an Intro to Piano class in college (that I dropped mid-way through). My technique is solidly sloppy with my left hand pretty much limited to playing root-bass-notes.

I am also a relatively mediocre guitar player who plays in a band that plays all original music. My piano playing time is dedicated to trying to figure out how to play on the piano what I already know how to play on guitar.

It’s work … but it’s fun.

I did two degrees in musicology, but my playing level really puts me more in the amateur/dilettante category. My favorite “just for fun” pieces are from the Bach sinfonia and inventions, and a few harpsichord pieces by Rameau and Couperin.

Also, I could play the few Macdowell woodland sketches in my comfort level all day long…<3

I have “To a Wild Rose.” Such a pretty piece. I’ve never heard the others, as far as I know.