Amatuer writer: How do I learn character development?

I’ve been an amateur writetr for a couple of years and my biggest problem is developing characters. I’m not very good at it, but I know that I have to learn it in order to be a better writer. Unfortunatly, I’m not very social and I have very few friends in the area who I can actually be around physically, so that doesn’t help much.

My problem is, how do I do it? I’ve heard reading books with good character development can help, any suggestions on what books would be good for this would be appreciated?

The books I normally read are not really the type to have a lot of character development. Sci-fi, Fantasy, Horror. Even the classics I tend to like aren’t really big on character development that I can recall.

HPL?
Howard P. Lovecraft, is that you?

Um, if you don’t have people that you can base it on (even psychological examination of your own aspects & potentials counts for something) maybe you should stick to incoherent horror stories about the unknowable inhuman.

Seriously, reading how other people do it is a typical method.

Also, you could get a subscription to Psychology Today. They write a lot about personalities, & it may give you insight into how much variation there is in how people think. This still needs to be balanced by observing real people, but hey, observing can be done in a quiet, low-impact manner. Many writers frequent bars or coffee houses just to watch people & start making up stories about those they see–that is, who those they see could be, not who they are.

Of the Elderitch nature of the horrifying beyond, I cannot tell, but I am prepared to return to my chronicles of the inifinite unknown.

Actually, my sister does have a subscription to that, so I’ll see if I can’t get ahold of some of those.