Amazing Water Trick: How did they do this?

A video floating around show a guy pouring water into a cup then carefully placing the cup upside down on a flat counter top. Then it shows him quickly spin and pull off the cup. Miraculously, the water holds the shape of the cup. It holds long enough for him to go around the counter to get the camera and hold it closer to the water. Then he hovers his hand above the water for a couple seconds before the whole thing collapses in one giant splash.

It is not without edits, so we don’t see him go straight from pouring to the actual event. The theory is that the water has been frozen. Some are trying to claim it’s all CGI, but I for the life of me can’t see how that’s possible. With all the camera movement and changes in focus, it would be hard to duplicate so seamlessly. I’ve inspected it closely and I don’t think it was a CGI effect, but I am not an expert.

I agree that it is probably ice, but how did it collapse into a puddle like that so suddenly? I would have expected to see some ice chips or cracks before it finally liquefied. Usually it doesn’t happen so uniformly.

Anyway, here is the video:

What do you think?

No idea, I suppose I’d go with frozen as well. Frozen as in just barely frozen. Just the very outside layer. It was probably in the freezer for 30 minutes or so and I’d guess the inside of the cup had a non-stick spray in it. If the ice was thin enough you’d likely not see the little shards when it broke.

Well, real water doesn’t act like that, so obviously the thing is fake. I’d go with CGI, too. It doesn’t have the appearance of frozen – you can see oscillations and/or rotations there, like the water is jelled. But gelatine won’t look like that.
This looks like it’s designed to make a lot of people spend a lot of time spilling water all over their counters. “a towel”, indeed. Lotsa towels, more like it.

Thin cup made out of sugar/candy and filled with water. Ice wouldn’t hold up.