Ancient/old books still in print today

What are the oldest (and most entertaining) books in the world that are available in English translation? After recently completing Ovid’s Metamorphoses (as translated by Horace Gregory), which was “published” in 8 AD, I am very interested in reading more of the world’s oldest books. Not necessarily medical texts or beer recipes, though. I’m thinking literature: stories, poems, histories, that sort of thing. Also, I’d like to stick to one or two works per author at the moment, so please help me find the “best of”. I enjoyed Metamorphoses, but I’d like to branch out before I devote myself to reading all Ovid’s works. I’d also like to find more accessible translations, even if accuracy of the translation suffers a bit. I’m an amateur, not a scholar.

What books have survived through the ages? I’m interested in anything older than, say, 1500 AD. I suppose that could be a great quantity of books! So what books should I be looking for? Have you read any? What did you think? Is this going to be a short lived hobby? Or one I’ll regret?

How about the world’s first novel?

I have copies of Julius Caesar’s Commentaries on the Gallic Wars (AD 45) and Suetonius’ Lives of the Caesars (AD 121) on my shelf. Both are terrific reading.

ETA: The Iliad and The Odyssey are both older, and the latter in particular is an interesting read.

The saga literature is tremendously entertaining - I’ve read the Orkneyinga Saga, and I’ve got a few more on my shelf waiting around for me. The awesome thing about the Orkney one is that evidently you can go to Orkney and see, for instance, the church where that one guy laid in wait to chop that other guy’s head off, etc. It’s all there. Very cool.

The Epic of Gilgamesh is pretty damned old, and interesting too. The bits where missing/destroyed tablets interrupt are annoying, but I bet a good annotated version would help you out.