Ang Lee's "Gemini Man" at 120 fps. Seen it?

Ang Lee’s action thriller Gemini Man, starring Will Smith, opened last Friday. Lee shot it in 4K 3D at 120 frames per second, five times the standard 24 fps.

Unfortunately, no theaters in the US are capable of showing it in that format, and only 14 US theaters can show it in 2K 3D 120 fps. (Apparently, a much larger number of theaters are showing it at 60 fps. Listings designate them as “30+ HFR.”)

Fortunately for me, one of the fourteen 120 fps screens is only 30 minutes away, and I saw it tonight.

Let me start off by saying that, IMHO, as a movie, Gemini Man is a fair-to-middling action flick. I found the story formulaic, predictable, and almost entirely unremarkable. For that reason, I’m not interested in discussing the story in this thread.

The film’s only notable achievements are technical. The first of those achievements is the computer-generated young version of Will Smith. I’m no expert, and haven’t bothered to read up on how it was done, but apparently they used different tech than some of the previous films that “de-aged” their stars. IMO, it was very well done, with virtually no trace of the “uncanny valley” effect. But as with the story, I’m not terribly interested in discussing that aspect.

I am interested in the film’s use of HFR, and in the reactions of my fellow Dopers and the general public to the HFR experience. As many of you undoubtedly know, the first mainstream experiment with HFR was Peter Jackson’s The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012), which was shot at 48 fps, and projected at that rate in a fairly large number of theaters. There was a substantial negative reaction on the part of critics, and, to a lesser extent, the public. People complained that it had a “video” look that was distracting and uncinematic. Many theories were put forward as to why this was so, but the takeaway for many filmmakers and filmgoers was that HFR doesn’t work for drama.