Another retirement/aging discussion

This topic started me thinking about my remaining years. I just turned 57. I am single (divorced.) I have been working continuously in the IT field for over 30 years. I have been contributing to my 401(k) all along and it’s fairly sizeable (I realize this number is different for everyone.) I also have an IRA that I manage myself that is much smaller than the 401(k), but not insignificant. By some luck and previous experience, the home I am paying off is worth about 2.5 times what I paid for it. I refinanced when the rates were good (<2.75%) and I have no debt other than my mortgage. So, all and all, I think I am doing OK as far as my finances.

If I wanted to retire in a few years I could probably sustain myself into my 80s. But for what? Just to exist? I know I am venturing off into personal opinion here, but I guess my essential question is: would I rather enjoy the years I have left as a relatively-young, mobile person or scrimp to extend my life as long as possible even if it’s just existing?

I’m not looking for anyone to answer this for me. I guess I’m looking for other people’s outlooks. How do you want to grow old?

For me, I plan to grow old walking around leisurely and browsing cafes, museums, bookstores, flying or cruising to some locations, etc. I even already have most of the plans sort of written down by now.

The reason such a retirement plan is so lazy, though, is because I don’t expect to have much money by then, so it’s all I can afford. I’d be lucky to be drawing the equivalent of $30,000 a year by then in today’s dollars. So a quiet existence it is.