Antigen, Medical Technologist

I did it! I graduated, wrote the national certification exam, and I just finished my first day working as a medical technologist. I’m loving it! Finally, after learning and learning and learning until I was sure that my head would explode, a chance to actually use it for something! It’s amazing how good it feels to be working with specimens, entering patient results, calling the wards and giving STAT results to the doctors, and knowing that I’m doing something important.

I don’t have my official hospital ID yet, but I have a lab coat with my name on it! And damned if I don’t make a lab coat look gooood. :slight_smile: I was in the HR office today to sign papers involving my job description, and under “title” it said “Medical Technologist”. I think I was smiling for an hour afterwards. I’m a professional now!

I’m feeling a little bit lost, now that I don’t have to study anymore. Well, I’ll still study for a little while, because I’m going to be doing the ASCP exam soon, in hopes of eventually working in the States. But then, after that… what the heck do people do with evenings?

Congratulations! Hey people, let’s have a little love here - I wrote those national certification exams for Med Lab Technology sometime back around the turn of the century, and they are DAMNED HARD! (I passed, by the way. :smiley: ) Being an RT wasn’t for me, so I got out of the biz, but good for you, Antigen. There’s still some things I miss about the labs; I used to love sitting and reading the pathology books about all the weird diseases, and it is pretty darned exciting (in a morbid way) to get really unusual results for tests. If I’d stayed in it, I think I would have focused on blood banking and genetics. Those were always my strongest interest.