Any screenwriters (wannabe or otherwise) in the house?

Just got my two cheesy certificates from the Writer’s Digest Screenwriting competition. My two entries placed somewhere between 11th and 100th place. Not bad (they hasten to point out in the accompanying letter), considering there were over 19,000 entries, but just not god enough to suit me.

Are there any other screen/television scribes out there? Professional or “working on it”? Wanna share horror stories of the pitch sessions that went awry? Or the one that almost made it?

I’ve been working seriously at it for a couple years–got a pitch to a television series on the strength of a spec (no sale); almost talked Hayley Mills’ assistant (yes, that Hayley Mills) into taking one of my scripts home with her (play performance in Nashville); been turned down by a handful of agents; had one agent who never called, etc., etc., etc. Once sat next to actor David Keith at a Steve Earle concert, but just could not handle the thought of him playing one of my characters, so I never brought the subject up.

Anyway, who else?

Sir

I wrote a script for a short film I want to make. The problem is that I’m a “visual” person. I get shots in my head, but then I have to write a script to use them in. And I’m terrible with dialog.

So I wrote this script. Then I looked at it and decided the dialog was crap. (Actually, the original intent was that there would be no dialog, but I decided it would work better if it had some.) I sat on it for a couple of years, then I had an inspration and “tweaked” it a couple of months ago. It’s much better now and the exposition doesn’t get in the way of the images. Of course, now I’m trying to move out of state, so I can’t make the film. I’ll do it after I move, which will be easier because the guy on whose films I usually work is up there.