Anybody skilled with CAD/CAM and bored and want to help me out?

I made a small sculpture that I would like to have 3D printed at Shapeways.com.

I used 123DCatch to make a 3D model from jpg files, and it made what was probably a good start, it clearly needs some human work.

It turns out that although I am a professional software developer and use software nearly every waking hour, I profoundly suck at CAD/CAM and completely failed to figure out how to fix my model. I suspect it might be a quick and easy job for someone who has used CAD/CAM before, but it’s hard for me to say.

I placed here some jpgs of the sculpture, and the model I have in .obj and .123 format.

Shapeways supports files in the following formats:

I checked the file in Blender, the shape is there but it needs to be cleaned, a lot.

I recommend here to make the images again with a more contrasting background or light added (It seems the 3d tool you are using added a lot of the flat background to the model) and run the images into the 3d tool again. If those images are the best done so far, I could do the removal of all the extra nodes, but I’m busy today, I could help tomorrow.

Thanks! I will try again with more a more contrasting background.

EDIT: The object is at work, so I’ll have to do it tomorrow evening. Or maybe I’ll do a different similar sculpture…

Definately try another set of photos. Your biggest problem is the shininess of the object and the background.

Set it on something that has plenty of texture and a matte surface. I found a photo online of a frame full of fancy colored russian easter eggs and printed it out on a full sheet of paper. Don’t use something like sanpaper which is textured, but very random. The extra texture will help orient the cameras so Catch doesn’t have to rely only on what is in the object.