Anyone a publisher, writer, or editor?

My friend wants to be an editor but doesn’t think she’ll ever get there, because in theory editing is a crap job for crap pay. Does anyone have any experience they could offer with the publishing industry?

Specifically, she wants to know if it will make her hate reading, what the job situation is like (how easy it is to find a job, what’s the pay like, etc), and whether or not you have to be a good writer to be a good editor (she is a great writer, but doesn’t want to write, thus editing…).

I was an intern at a small, non-profit publisher that didn’t accept unsolicited submissions. Despite stating that latter point plainly, they still got plenty of submissions, and I was assigned to the “slush” pile. I could have just automatically stuffed the envelopes with “No thanks” notes, but I read a few of them.

The slush pile killed my soul.

That’s all I really have to contribute.

I am an editor for a publishing house. The pay is not bad, but it’s not great, either. Unfortunately, most of the editors I know do not really get to edit.

For example, we check the books before we send out page proofs and if we see something we can fix it, and if we see something we want to question, we can question it. But for 9 out of 10 books we really aren’t supposed to READ them, just make sure that the headings are correct, the page numbers are all there, and all the typesetting elements are consistent and in the right places.

A lot of the books we do are legal casebooks, though, so even if we see an obvious mistake in the case itself, all we get to do is query whether the mistake is in the original or if it was introduced in the process. If it was in the original, it stays. But if the questions following each case are misnumbered, well, we can change that.

And the last book I actually got to edit, I was limited to 10 hours.