Anyone else driving for Uber or Lyft? Riders and drivers, any good experiences? Or bad?

I’ve been driving for about 3 months and two things I’ve enjoyed are meeting people and having nice conversations, and also seeing San Francisco sites again on a regular basis — The City has changed a lot in the 20 years ago since I moved away.

The conversations and interactions are often pleasant and enjoyable, and not just small talk but often it is. But for those who want to talk it can be fascinating and engaging. The money and tips are okay, and sometimes can actually be pretty good.

I’ve given about 700 rides combined, with both Uber and Lyft, so I’m not a new driver. For riders, have you had good experiences? Or bad? What about any drivers out there, how do you like it?

I have not driven for either but I have a really good friend who has.

He started primarily because of tuition expenses for his daughter.

Overall, he has enjoyed it. He has very high ratings and has talked about lots of good interactions with passengers.

He said he tries to keep a basket of snacks and waters. He also keeps various playlists on his phone that he can give the passengers a selection. He said only one bad time where he was in a college town (for his regular job) and decided to drive and picked up a group of drunk students. He was glad they were being responsible and not driving, but one was on the verge of passing out and they were taking videos and pics that would not have looked good if they had been released (I mean who wants to have pics of themselves messed up like that floating around). He did have those green bags like they have in the hospital and gave her one. He also suggested that the other students were not being good friends taking pics of their friend in that condition. He said he was not sure, but he did get a bad rating that night, so his guess was it was this group.

I don’t like talking to strangers, so I do not think I would be very good at being a driver.