Anyone ever had a "surgical matrixectomy"? (Surgical removal of a deformed toenail)

My podiatrist recommended that I have a surgical matrixectomy: this is a surgical permanent removal of a damaged and deformed toenail.

While this sounds minor, my doctor says I’ll be bandaged for 14 days, with very limited use during this time. Also, I should keep the foot elevated.

Have you ever undergone this procedure, or know someone who has? I’m looking for:

• What the surgery itself was like for you.
  • What happened after the surgery?
    • How much pain were you in?
    • How long did the bandage stay on?
    • Were you able to walk at all after the surgery?
    • How long did it take to heal?
    • How long before you felt you were completely healed from it?

The usual “you are not a doctor” caveats apply. I’m just looking for other’s experience with this procedure.

Thanks,
J.

Well, I am a doctor who has done this surgery. Does that disqualify me from replying? :smiley:

It’s a pretty easy, mindless procedure: I did one this morning, without the nail ablation (just yanked it cuz it was ingrown, it’ll grow back) in under 10 minutes. I can do them in my sleep, I often have.

Most patients walk easily after it’s done. The toe is numb so it’s not a problem. The first night it may throb a bit, but ibuprofen or acetaminophen is usually able to abate the pain enough. Within a few days, they’re 90% back to normal, and in about 2 weeks, it’s all over and done. Even my worst drug-seeking patients didn’t request anything stronger (of course they knew they wouldn’t get it).

The day after the surgery, I have the patient see the nurse, who changes the dressing, and issues bandaids to the patient, who then takes care of the toe after that, changing them as needed a few times a day. Within 3-6 days no bandage is usually necessary. Keep it clean, wash with soap and water, a dab of antibiotic ointment, and there you have it.