Anyone ever stuffed envelopes to make money?

Since my mornings/early afternoons are free for the summer, I’ve been looking for a way to make some extra cash without really having to leave the house. Someone at work mentioned stuffing envelopes. I’m dubious, at best, but thought I would get some Doper’s opinions/experiences.

I won’t be depending on any income from this, it would just be money to sock away. I have a part time job in the evenings, another job on Saturdays, and college doesn’t start again until August.

So tell me everything you know :smiley:

I’ve never done it before, but I recently read on cnn.com

http://www.cnn.com/2003/TECH/internet/07/03/spam.pay.ap/index.html

about an arrest for fraud made with just such an opportunity. Evidently, the standard procedure is to collect a certain amount of money from each participant, in return for which they promise to send you a box of materials, or a starter kit of some kind. Sometimes, as in this case, they flee with the cash.

Sometimes they give you a box of envelopes that say “How To Make $$$ Stuffing Envelopes!” and instructions how to pull off the scam yourself by sendng out flyers that say “How To Make $$$ Stuffing Envelopes!” In other words, a pyramid scam.

I work at a medical billing office, and we have self-sealing envelopes (no licking necessary) and an adjustable automatic letter-folding machine. Our bulk mailing meter has a wet sponge in it to automatically seal the licky-kind of envelopes. I don’t know about any specific opportunity you’re thinking of, but I strongly suspect anybody with a lot of legitimate work to do has the resources to do it quickly and cheaply by machine.

If you choose to investigate this further, I advise you keep your eyes peeled and turn your Scam Radar on.

FISH

I figured that most of what I would hear about would be scams. Thats why I decided to come ask ya’ll before I looked too much into it!