Anyone here had issues with rhabdomyolysis?

I’m seeking information because my brother, who was always very fit and active, started having sudden debilitating joint pain a short time after beginning statins and it has persisted for months. It’s hard to get a clear idea of how prevalent something is from a web page; and I value experiential data.

Rhabdomyolysis is the breakdown of muscle due to injury or indeed in some cases, medications such as statins. Approximately 7% of statin users will experience muscle pain. Toxic effects on muscle tissue are experienced by less than 0.1% of users, while rhabdomyolysis leading to death is thought to be 1 in 5 million. cite

So less than 0.1% for a case such as your brothers. But statins are used by millions of people so even a small % results in a lot of cases.

How is your brother? Was he hospitalized?

More to your question, yes muscle and joint pain is common, rhabdo , not so much. I’m an ER nurse and I’ve seen dozens of cases of rhabdomyolysis, none caused by appropriate statin use.

It’s called the Crossfit Disease for a reason. Crossfitters call it Uncle Rhabdo. It’s also caused by frequent high intensity workouts. It occurs with the type of workouts that are common with Crossfit, light loads for many repetitions. It is still extremely rare even with Crossfitters.

To the OP: are you sure it’s Rhabdo? Rhabdo is the breakdown of muscle tissue to the point that it enters the bloodstream. The broken down tissue collects in the kidney eventually causing renal failure. If not treated it can be fatal. It goes well beyond muscle pain. Was he hospitalized? Is he getting treatment?