Anyone know where to get an indoor air conditioner?

I know they probably don’t exist, but, anyone know where to get a good indoor (one that doesn’t hang in the window) air conditioner for a maximum of $250? :wink:

Here’s some, but they’re over your price limit. It should give you an idea, though.

If I inderstand the physics correctly, any air conditioner generates more heat than cold. That’s why at least part of it has to be outside, to dump the heat produced.

Now I’m no expert, but that would seem to me to limit the utility of an “indoor air conditioner”.

I’d really be interested in learning where the waste heat from these things goes.

Can you still vent out a window? I have seen these at Costco and Home Depot (to name a couple of places) but they all still have a vent hose (which, in my case, wont work). Also, they are about double your stated price range.

Typically these units have window vent kits to exhaust the heat outside the conditioned space. One inherent problem is the heat given off by the flexible hose into the space you’re trying to cool.

I don’t remember where I read about these – maybe it was in Consumer Reports. Anyways, the upshot of their testing of these units was that they only lower the temp by about five degrees, and that included a unit with a hose to vent air outside.

Is there some reason you can’t use a window unit? My daughter bought one for about $200. It’s small, easy to install and remove, and she says it makes two rooms liveable.

Well… I can vent out the window… no problem… It’s hard to explain the situation, but let me put it at this: the landlords said we couldn’t have an air conditioner because we’d blow a fuse due to old wiring, yet in their half of the house they have not one, not two, but three air conditioners. I can’t explain why we can’t just go to them and say “you have three, we should be able to have one” – so I either need an indoor air conditioner or a really low voltage normal air conditioner (if any exist… :\ )