Anyone use eMusic? (free trial or otherwise)

I bought a new MP3 player, and there was a certificate in the box for 100 free MP3’s from eMusic. I went to the site, and of course they wanted credit card info…so I didn’t sign up. The prices are pretty resonable ($9.99 per month for 12 months, $14.99 per month for 3 months), but I’m still hesitant. Has anyone signed up for a free trial and been able to cancel it without hassles?

Is the selection pretty good? I barely browsed the site, but it seems OK. Do they get new stuff regularly? Any problems downloading, and is the speed OK? Any other problems before I sign up?

I have a subscription. For jazz and classical music, it’s great; for rock and country, it’s okay. “Hot” artists tend to be unavailable. You want the latest Britney or Eminem, you’re out of luck, or even Beatles and Stones. But their selection of second-tier artists is vast. You can rarely find your first choice of anything, but they have plenty of other stuff in stock you’ll probably settle for.

Download time: I have a dial-up account (56k), so it takes a while, maybe two hours for a typical album. I usually key up two or three albums’ worth before I go to work, and it’s all downloaded by the time I get home.

They get new stuff daily, but it usually isn’t anybody you’ve heard of.

For classical, they don’t have opera available, or top-of-the line name performers (No Pavarotti, Yo Yo-Ma, Sarah Chang or Eroica Trio). But they have all the major pieces of music by all the improtant composers, usually by someone you’ve never heard of. I’d never heard of the English Guitar Quartet or Liona Boyd before, but I’m certainly a fan now. They have all of Beethoven’s Symphonies by Furtwangler. They have vast troves of stuff, divided by style (Baroque, chamber, medieval, romantic, what have you).